Business studies

Curriculum coverage at key stage 4

BTEC First Business – years 10 and 11
This Edexcel BTEC is a qualification comprising of core and specialist units which cover aspects of knowledge, understanding and competency necessary for employment within the Business Sector. The knowledge, understanding and skills learnt in studying a BTEC First will aid progression to further study and prepare learners to enter the workplace in due course.

BTECs are vocationally related qualifications, where learners develop knowledge and understanding by applying their learning and skills in a work-related context.

The qualification will contain all or some of the following units:
• Enterprise in the Business World
• Finance for Business
• Small Business Planning
• Promoting a Brand
• Principles of Marketing
• Introducing Project Management
• Business Online
• Working in Business Teams
• Customer Service

For further information about the exam specification please click on the link below:

Curriculum coverage at key stage 5

OCR Cambridge Technicals Level 2/Level 3 Business
Offered at either Level 2 or Level 3, Cambridge Technicals are a new generation of vocational qualifications that have been developed and redefined to be aimed specifically at students aged 16+ and to be more relevant to further education. This qualification has been designed by OCR building on links with the University of Cambridge and the Cambridge Approach to assessment and its reputation for offering creative and inspiring vocational qualifications.

This qualification is suitable for any student who is preparing for employment in the business sector particularly in job roles where they will be expected to use communication, numeracy and IT skills, liaise with customers and carry out customer-facing operational roles. The Level 3 course is also suitable for students who would aim to gain entry to university. For further information about the exam specification please click on the link below:

Financial studies (London Institute of Finance and Banking) Level 3

Financial Capability for the Immediate and Short Term, Financial Capability for the Medium and Long Term

Level 3 Diploma
Sustainability of an Individual’s Finances, Sustainability of the Financial Services System

For the IFS Certificate/Diploma students sit 2 modules, each consisting of a multiple choice examination and a written examination. On-line resources are used to deliver this course which is then facilitated by the Business Studies teacher

Applied Law - BTEC Level 3

For the certificate the units studied are:

• Unit 1: Dispute Solving in the Legal System
• Unit 2: Understanding Law Making
• Unit 3: Aspects of Legal Liability

For the Diploma the units studied are:

• Unit 4: Unlawful Homicide and Police Powers
• Unit 7: Consumer Law
• Unit 8: Aspects of the Law of Tort